All Creatures Great and Small

Most days, this blog will be focused on cats — the ones that live in and around my house and the ones I encounter during my volunteer time.

But I have a soft spot for all animals, and last week I got the chance to visit a special place: Farm Sanctuary in Watkins Glen, NY. Farm Sanctuary does for farm animals what rescue groups do for companion animals. They save them from inhumane situations and help them find forever homes, whether at one of the organization’s santuary facilites or with a farm or family.

This little one was born with a deformed hoof and leg. When she gets older, she’ll be fitted for prosthetics.

I’ve been a vegetarian for 22 years now, and I see no difference between the value of a cow’s life and that of a cat. They’re all worth saving in my eyes.

Here are a few pictures from our visit last week to the Watkins Glen sanctuary. You can learn more about Farm Sanctuary at its website and at its Animals of Farm Sanctuary blog.

Merlin, the cow in charge here.
The turkeys love it when you feed them grass. In fact, they’ll follow you around waiting for you to feed them.
The pigs had their breakfast, so it was time to nap.
At factory farms, pigs are stored in crates that don’t allow them to move.
img_7789
Calves are taken from their mothers after birth so the cows’ milk can be sold for human consumption. Male calves are locked up and sold for veal.
Chickens are packed so tightly into cages that their beaks are clipped so they don’t peck each other.

 

4 thoughts on “All Creatures Great and Small

  1. Great post. I started with my love for cats but now vegan for all the animals. The best decision ever 😁 I’m very envious you visited Farm Sanctuary. I follow them on Facebook. One day I’d like to visit them but I live all the way in Australia.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

